Thursday, July 31, 2014
Minnesota : Northstar
 Search
 FAQs about Fees Minimize
Submitting a License Verification:
A $15 dollar fee will be charged for verification provided by the Board of Social Work to any entity, using the Board of Social Work Verification form or any other forms provided by other jurisdictions or entities (Example: Other State Licensing Boards, Credentialing Agencies).  The fee is due at the time of the request. All incomplete forms, including forms that do not accompany a fee, will be returned to the Licensee.  License verification requests will include public information on any disciplinary or corrective action.  A paper copy of the action will be included.

Office of Enterprise Technology (OET) Surcharge:
All licensing and renewal fees submitted, both online and by paper, through June 30, 2015 will be assessed the mandatory OET Surcharge of 10%, equaling no less than $5 and no more than $150 on each business, commercial, professional, or occupational license, including social work licenses.  The OET will use the funds to establish a statewide “one stop” electronic licensing system with the money collected.  [See Minnesota Statutes, section 16E.22.]

Forms requiring a fee and submitted without a fee will be considered incomplete and will be returned to the sender unprocessed.

      

 Fees Minimize

Licensing and renewal fees have been decreased by 30% effective January 1, 2006. The fee amounts are specified in Minnesota Statutes, Section 148E.180, subdivisions 1-7. 

Application Fees (Subd. 1)

Type of Fee

Fee Amount

LSW 

$45

LGSW

$45

LISW

$45

LICSW

$45

Temporary License

$50

Licensure by Endorsement   

$85

Criminal Background Checks   

Determined by BCA(currently $15)

License Fees (Subd. 2)

Type of Fee

Fee Amount

**OET Surcharge

TOTAL FEE FOR License

LSW 

$81

$8.10

$89.10

LGSW

$144

$14.40

$158.40

LISW

$216

$21.60

$237.60

LICSW

$238.50

$23.85

$262.35

Emeritus License

$43.20

Temporary Leave Fee

Same as regular license fee

Initial term more or less than 24 months

Prorated proportionately*

 *Initial term license fees can not be paid online.  Fee for initial licensure can be paid by check or money order made payable to the Minnesota Board of Social Work.

**All licensing and renewal fees submitted on or after July 1, 2010 through June 30, 2015 will be assessed the mandatory OET Surcharge of 10%.  A law passed by the 2009 Minnesota Legislature, initiated by OET, requires a 10% surcharge of no less than $5 and no more than $150 on each business, commercial, professional, or occupational license, including social work licenses.  The OET will establish a statewide “one stop” electronic licensing system with the money collected.  [See Minnesota Statutes, section 16E.22.]

Renewal Fees (Subd. 3)

Type of Fee

License Fee Amount

** OET Surcharge

 TOTAL Fee For RENEWAL

LSW 

$81

$8.10

$89.10

LGSW

$144

$14.40

$158.40

LISW

$216

$21.60

$237.60

LICSW

$238.50

$23.85

$262.35

CE Provider Fees (Subd. 4)

Type of Fee

Fee Amount

1-8 Clock Hours in One-Year Period

$50

9-16 Clock Hours in One-Year Period

$100

17-32 Clock Hours in One-Year Period

$200

33-48 Clock Hours in One-Year Period

$400

49+ Clock Hours in One-Year Period  

$600

Late Fees (Subd. 5)

Type of Fee  

Fee Amount

Renewal Late Fee

1/4 of renewal fee

Supervision Plan Late Fee   

$40

License Cards and Wall Certificates (Subd. 6)

Type of Fee

Fee Amount

Duplicate License Card                                 

$10

License Wall Certificate/Name Change

$30

Reactivation Fees (Subd. 7)

Type of Fee

Fee Amount

Temporary Leave                                          

Prorated share of renewal fee

Emeritus Status                                             

Prorated share of renewal fee

Expired License                                             

1.5 times renewal fee

Fees Charged for Goods & Services

Statutory Authority

Minnesota Statutes, Section 16A.1283, provides that “an executive branch state agency may not impose a new fee or increase an existing fee unless the new fee or increase is approved by law.” However, the statute exempts from this requirement “charges for goods and services provided for the direct and primary use of a private individual, business, or other entity.”  The following are the fees that will be charged by the Board for “goods and services provided for the direct and primary use of a private individual, business, or other entity.”

Type of Fee

Fee Amount

Returned Check                                                   

$20

Copying Fee (hardcopy or microfiche)

25 cents per page

The fee noted above is per individual name requested.  Only public information as defined in the Minnesota Government Data Practices Act (Minnesota Statutes, Chapter 13) will be provided.  License verification requests will include public information on any disciplinary or corrective action.  A paper copy of the action will be included.

License Verification

Type of Fee

Fee Amount

Online License Verification 

$0

Written License Verification

$15

Number on List Fees

Only public information as defined in the Minnesota Government Data Practices Act (Minnesota Statutes, Chapter 13) will be provided on persons licensed as social workers. All requests for mailing lists must be in writing and paid in advance.  Lists may be provided by zip code, license level, or both.  Lists may be in disk, paper, or label format.  For additional information or to request a mailing list, please contact Connie Oberle, Office Manager.

Mailing Lists

0-999                             

$50

1,000-1,999

$100

2,000-3,999

$200

4,000-5,999 

$300

6,000-7,999

$400

8,000 or more 

$500

Common Mailing Lists Number on List

Current LSWs                                                     5,300

Current LGSW’s                                                 1,850

Current LISW’s                                                      650

Current LICSW’s                                                4,200

All levels total                                                   12,000

All levels in metro area only                               7,400

 

* numbers are approximate

 

 

 

Reviewed 09/2013

 

 

 

 

 


      

  

The Minnesota Board of Social Work is an affirmative action / equal opportunity employer.
The Minnesota Board of Social Work does not discriminate in employment on the basis of race, color,
creed, religion, national origin, sex, marital status, disability, public assistance, age, sexual orientation, or
membership on a local human rights commission.


    

Copyright (c) 2014 Board of Social Work
Login   ||