Renewing Your License
Your license to practice social work in Minnesota must be
renewed every two years. It will be renewed for the first time in your birth month
in the second calendar year following the effective date of your license. A license
must be renewed by the last day of your birth month, and will be effective for
As stated in Minnesota Statutes, Section 148E.070, you must document
compliance with the standards of practice, continuing education requirements,
and, if applicable, the supervised practice requirements using application
forms provided by the Board.
Renewal Application Process
Notification from the Board
- A License Renewal Notice (postcard notification) will be
automatically mailed to your current mailing address on record 45 days before
the expiration date of your license.
- Failure to receive the license renewal notice does not release
you from your obligation to renew a license.
Submit the Application and Fee
- Submit your completed license renewal application with the
required, nonrefundable license renewal fee. An application which is not completed or
signed, or which is not accompanied by the correct fee, is void and will be returned
- The application and required fee must be received by the Board
by midnight of the business day on your expiration date.
- Paper and online renewal fees submitted on or after July 1,
2010 through June 30, 2015 will be assessed the mandatory OET Surcharge of
10%. A law passed by the 2009 Minnesota
Legislature, initiated by OET, requires a 10% surcharge of no less than $5 and
no more than $150 on each business, commercial, professional, or occupational
license, including social work licenses.
The OET will establish a statewide “one stop” electronic licensing
system with the money collected. [See
Minnesota Statutes, section 16E.22.]
Licensure Renewal Fees
Licensure Renewal Fee
Licensed Social Worker (LSW)
Licensed Graduate Social Worker (LGSW)
Licensed Independent Social Worker (LISW)
Licensed Independent Clinical Social Worker (LICSW)
If you are within the specified time period for renewal, you
may renew using the Board’s online renewal process through the Board’s website
(preferred), or you may renew using the paper application process. The following options are available to you:
- Go to www.socialwork.state.mn.us,
click on “Online Services” and register as a new user if you haven’t already
registered. You may renew your license
or apply for a temporary leave or emeritus license at the time of license
renewal. You may pay fees using your
Visa or Master card. No extra credit
card processing fees are assessed.
- Go online and click “Downloadable Forms” to print the
“Application for License Renewal” form to mail with a check. If you choose this option, please return the
blue postcard renewal notice that you received in the mail with your
application form and fee.
- Request paper forms to be mailed: email us at www.socialwork.state.mn.us or
Renewal Application Deadlines
You may submit an application for renewal of your license up
to 45 days prior to your expiration date or up to 60 days after your expiration
date. However, if you submit your
application after the expiration date, a late fee is assessed. If application materials and the required
fees are not received within 60 days of the expiration/renewal date, the
license automatically expires, retroactive to your expiration date.
If your completed application is received after midnight on
the expiration date, a late fee of 1/4 of the renewal fee, in addition to the
renewal fee, and the OET surcharge of 10% of the renewal fee, is assessed and
must be paid before your application will be reviewed.
Authorization to Practice Pending Review
Provided that your application is received by midnight on
the expiration date, you are authorized to practice after the expiration date
while the application for license renewal is being reviewed.
If your application is not received by midnight on the
expiration date, you are not authorized to practice after the expiration
date. You may be subject to disciplinary
action by the Board for practicing social work after the expiration date.
The Board will expire your license for failure to:
- renew within 60 days of your expiration date
- meet the license renewal requirements, or
- provide all of the information as directed by the Board.
The Board may take disciplinary action against an expired
license based on conduct occurring before the expiration of the license.
Reactivation of an Expired License
As stated in Minnesota Statutes, Section 148E.080,
subdivision 3, a licensee must do the following within one year of the
expiration date to reactivate an expired license:
- complete an application form specified by the board;
- document compliance with the continuing education
requirements that were in effect at the time the license expired;
- document compliance with the supervision requirements, if
applicable, that were in effect at the time the license expired; and
- pay the reactivation of an expired license fee specified in Minnesota
Statutes, Section 148E.180,
which is 1-1/2 times the applicable renewal fee.
- Contact the Board via email at firstname.lastname@example.org to obtain
application materials or if you need additional information.